Private Tutor in Poughkeepsie, NY - Dutchess County
Math and Science Tutor for High School and College Students

Availability

Any day after 5pm

Rate

$35 / hour

Education

B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2013)

I have recently graduated from Rensselaer Polytechnic, and currently work at a major tech company. When I was in school, I majored in Electrical Engineering, and took all of the available general physics and general chemistry classes. I also took all the calculus (1, 2, 3), Differential Equation, Linear AlgebraProbability classes.

I always enjoy tutoring, and I have had great experiences helping others learn. I have been tutoring my younger brother for last 10 years. I started doing professional tutoring when I was in high school. I used to tutor a peer in both physics and chemistry. After that, I tutoredSAT MathRegents Trigonometry, Regents Algebra 2, Regents Chemistry, physics to many students, through private tutoring. I previously worked at my college as a Teacher Assistant. I tutored Calculus 1 for a over a year. I have received 24-hours of training from my college for this job, and I met with my supervisor every week to share my experience and ask questions regarding tutoring.

My tutoring philosophy is very simple. I try my best to help students understand CONCEPTS. Most of the students somehow try to memorize things, which doesn't help them in the long run. I also encourage my students to do distributive practice rather than mass practice (cramming). Also, rather than answering all the questions, I try to help the students to find the answer by themselves (by helping). In that way, students can remember the concepts far better than just listening from me.

Request Tutor »