Log In  |  Join Us
Private Tutor in Philadelphia, PA - Philadelphia County
Patient and Curious Tutor with 10 Years' Experience




Available Sunday through Thursday 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.


$50 / hour


B.A., Haverford College, 2010

My background and career have focused on teaching and training in many forms. My first tutoring student was a classmate in my eighth grade Latin class, and I've had more students every year since then. I worked for several years at Apple, teaching computer literacy and media skills one on one and in groups of 4-12. At Apple, I was selected for a year-long residency teaching other trainers throughout North America.

I have a background in Quaker educational philosophy and approach my work with the highest degree of ethics. I specialize in adult learning theory and building custom curricula to supplement or replace school curricula.

I have a keen eye for details and a passion for style books. I feel lucky to have English as my first language because of its expansive vocabulary. I love learning and sharing new words and helping others use the English language express themselves.

I have worked with several adult students for whom English is a second or third language. My focus is on grammar and vocabulary, but my students find that sessions with me improve their spoken communication, too.

I studied Latin formally for nine years and continue to read and translate classical texts on my own time. I have had many Latin students throughout the years, from a ten-year-old starting from the very beginning, to middle and high school students in all levels, including AP Prose and Poetry. I've worked with several standard Latin texts, including Ecce Romani, Latin for Americans, Cambridge Latin, Oxford Latin, and Lingua Latina. I've also developed custom curricula for Latin II and III that were approved for school credit at private schools in Northern Delaware.

My favorite questions are the ones I don't know the answers to. I'd much rather have a student flummox me and cause us to learn together, aligning us in the pursuit of knowledge, than sit there and spout off information. I teach not only subjects but techniques for better learning.

I operate out of Old City, Philadelphia and can meet you anywhere in the Greater Philadelphia Region, including Northern Delaware and South Jersey.

Feel free to reach out to me with any questions about my experience or techniques. My only question for you is: How can I help?

Request Tutor »